Legislative Affairs

The Legislative Affairs committee is responsible for coordinating legislative advocacy and lobbying efforts of the Student Assembly. The committee develops the Student Assembly's legislative agenda, makes recommendations on policies regarding external legislative matters, and reviews proposed bills affecting SUNY and its students. Additionally, the committee monitors matters relating to public finance as they affect the SUNY system and ensures adequate student representation exists within relevant state entities.

Committees meet on a regular basis via Google Hangouts or teleconference. All meeting details can be found on the Student Assembly Calendar and all documents can be found in the Committee Documents Archive. Biographies of members of the Executive Committee and Executive Cabinet can be viewed by clicking on names below where linked.

Austin Ostro, Chair
Michael Hilt, Vice Chair

Fahad Abbas
Richard Caldicott
Marc Cohen*
Amanda Demma
Manik Elahi
Kaylynn Enright
Alex George
Rosemary Guerra
Jordan Harcleroad
Melissa O’Brien
Samantha Palermo
Nicole Pereira*
Michaela Pickett

An asterisk (*) denotes an ex-officio, voting member of the committee.